Router Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All, sorry to be going on this much.
Had a thread about my KM12VC, and just happened to find the box for it, and have been encouraged to consider getting a fixed base only to start with. On the Ryobi BT3Central forum, someone mentioned that because this router is a dual fixed/plunge router, using it primarily as a table router means that it is a bit more of a pain to change bits as it requires 2 wrenches, and height adjustment is sub-optimal due to its dual fixed/plunge design.

Since I'm a complete novice woodworker, I'm wondering if it might not indeed be better to just get a good fixed base router, and worry about a plunge at a later date. My thinking is as it will be in the table most of the time, features which include 1 wrench or no wrench bit changing, and more accessible bit height adjustment in-table are probably priority features.

Is it possible to get a decent fixed-base router with these options at a savings over the $175 I payed for the KM12VC? I like the Rockler #1 table, and would like to get a router compatible with that, however Bosch and DeWalts are a bit pricier than I think I want to spend, unless I have too.
I expect to use this primarily for smaller projects, and if I find myself becoming skilled enough, would easily upgrade to a 3+ hp router in the future to make my kitchen cabinets.

Are there any decent mid-range routers available which you would think excel at being table-based and are adequately accurate and user-friendly in the bit changining/height adjusting category?

Or, should I keep this Hitachi, or go with one of their fixed, variable speed models?

For mainly hobbiest use, do I really need the variable speed if I am not using the larger bits?

Thanks for you time.

·
Registered
1,702 Posts
Hi,