Router Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
607 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'd like to make louver doors, storage for the first floor rear and front bedrooms. I think I'll be making, using a louver jig that was featured in Woodsmith magazine.

I'm on a limited budget, though I have a tablesaw and Dewalt thicknesser/planer etc.

I'm wondering would I be alright to make the doors from this Planed Whitewood Planed Whitewood - Timber -Building Materials - Wickes I'd use some type of pine stain on it.

If this timber wouldn't produce a nice job. Would any of their other timbers do? Or would I be better off going to to a timber merchant if can get timber to rip down at a good price. I'm very new to all of this I don't have a clue how to go about selecting suitable timber from a wood yard.
Cheers.

·
Registered
11,698 Posts
I would be concerned about warpage with that white wood. A better choice may be oak or another readily available hard wood.

·
Registered
23,786 Posts
I would suggest Basswood,see the video(s) and see how easy you can make them with the right wood and jig.
http://www.rockler.com/product.cfm?page=30953&site=ROCKLER

===

I'd like to make louver doors, storage for the first floor rear and front bedrooms. I think I'll be making, using a louver jig that was featured in Woodsmith magazine.

I'm on a limited budget, though I have a tablesaw and Dewalt thicknesser/planer etc.

I'm wondering would I be alright to make the doors from this Planed Whitewood Planed Whitewood - Timber -Building Materials - Wickes I'd use some type of pine stain on it.

If this timber wouldn't produce a nice job. Would any of their other timbers do? Or would I be better off going to to a timber merchant if can get timber to rip down at a good price. I'm very new to all of this I don't have a clue how to go about selecting suitable timber from a wood yard.
Cheers.

·
Registered
15,459 Posts