Router Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a model builder and my current project a scratch built Carlo River designed runabout in 1/4 scale. I am about to purchase a router and table, best deal for me ?
My problem is around the deck is a molding commonly refered to as a Monkey Rail, stops ya or supposed to from falling in the drink! anyhow the stock I am using Honduras Mahogany 1" x 1/2" in three segments per side with a radius covering a total of 24" per side. My question is how to router an inside curve, do I need to make an elaberate jig [is there a comercial one] or is there a more simple way also as far as I can tell there are no comercial bit to match the rebate I require.
All help would be appreciated, I can post pictures if that will help
Thanks
David AKA The Brit

·
Registered
10,671 Posts
Greetings and welcome to the router forum.

·
Registered
183 Posts
My problem is around the deck is a molding commonly refered to as a Monkey Rail, stops ya or supposed to from falling in the drink! anyhow the stock I am using Honduras Mahogany 1" x 1/2" in three segments per side with a radius covering a total of 24" per side. My question is how to router an inside curve, do I need to make an elaberate jig [is there a comercial one] or is there a more simple way also as far as I can tell there are no comercial bit to match the rebate I require.
1. You need to use a circle jig to make the radius, either directly in the work piece or in a template which you then copy with a flush trim or pattern bit. The template will save work when you're making multiple identical or mirror imaged pieces and allow you flip the workpiece so you aren't cutting into the grain like this ->\\\\ which tends to break things.