Router Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thank y'all for the add. I'm just an old retired/tired/disabled man that's needs something to do. I've been dabbling with woodwork for many many years and her last Christmas my wife got me into making signs. I started out going to try my hand at pyrography but couldn't get the desired look that I wanted. I actually stumbled across freehand routing and gave that a try. Now, I'm in love. If money permits I plan on going all out with it.

·
Retired Moderator
16,385 Posts
Welcome to the forum Kudzu. We have quite a few signmakers. We also have a pyrography sub forum that you can check out. Maybe you'll get some tips to improve that to the point where you like the results.

Reactions: BobbyLee

·
Registered
15,459 Posts
Hey, Kudzu; welcome!

For some strange reason your location isn't showing up on my comment page although it's clearly there on your Bio page.
Thanks for doing the bio by the way; just makes for a friendlier community. :)

·
Premium Member
19,239 Posts
Welcome aboard. Sign making is really great and there are some real experts around here. You can search for making signs here and read lots of very interesting and helpful entries. Or just ask away as time comes up. The favored hand router for signs around here seems to be the DeWalt 611PK (Package of both fixed and plunge base), here " http://www.amazon.com/DEWALT-DWP611...TF8&qid=1458316841&sr=8-2&keywords=dewalt+611. Light weight, low center of gravity, good accessories. Most I've seen here get the wide base with handles at both ends so you have really good control.