Router Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to routers. I want to learn how to use one. I am going to purchase the Bosch 1617EVSPK. I know this is a lot of router for a beginner but I don't want to buy small and wish I had gone bigger and better later. Anyway, the question.
What kind of bit would I use to rabbet 3/4 inch wood for a 1/4 inch thick back panel for a cabinet? I've seen all kinds of bits of different sizes and I'm confused. I've built a cabinet before but left the back open. I'm thinking of going with the 1/2 inch collet and shank.
Thanks in advance, Hector

·
Super Moderator
5,816 Posts
Hello Hector, and welcome aboard.

I have this router bit.
https://www.google.com/shopping/pro...HmWg1usFj8_ee3DUvEbvPNSaL4rx1VrDWMhoCCyHw_wcB

It comes with a variety of bearings which allow you to cut different widths of rabbits. Just change the bearing and you are good to go.

The price sounds a little stiff but you have the ability of having several bits in one package. They work well for me.
That was my choice. Hope this helps.
Mike

Edit: I looked at my router bit. It isn't Freud, and it has a 1/2 inch shank. But it is the combo with interchangeable bearings.

Upon closer inspection, it appears I bought the rabbet bit combo from MLCS.
https://www.mlcswoodworking.com/sho...ges/bit_rabbet.html?zoom_highlight=rabbet+bit

Attachments

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you for the reply. That is exactly what I am looking for. The price is no issue as long as I have the right tool.
Thanks again. I'll be returning to the forum all the tips and tricks.

·
Retired Moderator
16,385 Posts