Router Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
289 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, it's time to take care of all that dust making my *I wont say where I put the saw" uninhabitable.

My saw (DW745) has a little tube that I supposed is used to put there a hose from a vacuum.. but, since I'm totally new to this, I'd like to know if is only that or there is something else I should consider before doing that.

I googled a bit and there are some complex thingies called cyclone, and some woodworkers have also big-flashy-expensive setups to collect dust... wont work for me.

Any help is appreciated!.

· Registered
289 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 · (Edited)
Now I'm beginning to understand what a dust collector is, it has nothing to do with a shop vac :p, they are on another level. Money wise too!.

So, there is little I can do with a shop vac right?, any other alternatives?, the MDF is killing me when I use the table saw, I have to find a way to remove the most I can at least.

· Registered
289 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Stringer, my saw has something like this in the dust exit:

The dust does not fall in the floor, but it is contained inside. When that thing gets filled with dust, the air generated by the blade rotating throws dust to my face :p, sounds funny but it's not :(.

I just saw an article about how a cyclone is and the concept behind it, interesting, and it's homemade-able, which is cool.

But, I got a doubt, how powerful my shop vac has to be in order to actually extract dust?, because after I finish cutting MDF it's a mess..

(Also maybe my blade has a little wobble and it has a broad kerf, that probably doesn't help either)

· Registered
289 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
Ok, so now I'm beginning to understand things a little bit better, I need a separator (cyclone or thien) to avoid my shop vac to get instantly filled with saw dust, makes sense.