Router Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just finished my table and wanted to test it out. The first piece I put though shot out like a bullet and hit my shop wall. I have the router mounted and a fence is installed. I stopped working and went on the internet to research what i did wrong. Every article I read states feed should be right to left which is what I did. What am I doing wrong?

·
Premium Member
3,437 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Ken,

I did update my location. Scotch Plains, New Jersey. My work was not between the fence and the cutter. I was just using a round over bit on a piece of 3 inch pine. I had the cutter set for about an eight inch cut. I have never used a router in a table before and now I am a little concerned about trying it again.

·
Registered
3,165 Posts
Were you moving the wood from right to left? Going the other way would do what you experienced.
The fence should be covering AT LEAST 1/2 of the bit.

·
Registered
2,825 Posts
Can you tell us how exactly you made the cut? also, how many depth changes to make that cut? I can only guess, but you may have got your direction confused when moving the work. Did it pull the work through the bit, or away from the bit? i can tell you that it happens so fast, that every thing is shot across the room, before you even intended to start. Table top routing is very safe when you have the safety concerns down, and you have time to look at what happened. This has happened to us all in one shape, or another. It is a part of learning. We'll try to help. Wheni started to post, i saw 2, now i'm the fifth. We'll figure it out! Hang there!

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·