Router Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I needs some help. I was trying to plane a large slab in a sled and could get about half way done and the bit would drop. Every time it dropped I would to start over. My bit was tight and I had the lock on the height adjustment. What could be the cause of my height loss. It seems to me like the router height adjustment was slipping. Has anyone had this problem?

·
Registered
1,184 Posts
I wore my Triton collet out and had the same difficulty. I probably overtightened it constantly. I installed a muscle chuck collet

·
Registered
4,625 Posts
Is it the bit is dropping or the plunge lock not holding...?

·
Registered
43 Posts
I have been using a Triton for a couple of years now and I haven't had this problem so far. I use the standard chuck. I have mostly been routing MDF boards for skirting and architrave and run about 4-8 3M boards through each time in two or three passes with the boards on a tilt.

I set the bit height using an electronic height setting gauge and then lock up firmly. I also use a no clearance fence and make sure the outfeed board is held back against the tilted "fence" (some debate about whether it is actually a fence or not as it traps the board against the actual fence and only acts as a template to maintain the correct tilt).

·
Premium Member
19,238 Posts