Router Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Friends,
Hello !
I am totally new to Routers. Some of the raw materials I need to work on are plastic sheets like Nylon, HDPE, UHMW-PE, ACRYLIC, PP, Etc.
Can anyone guide me whether I can use Routers to cut these plastic sheets ?
Has anyone tried this before and with what result ?

Warm Regards

Shabdhin:help:

·
Registered
1,298 Posts
Wlecome!

My understanding is that that is the sort of thing the variable speed routers are made for. When routing plastics and other soft materials that can melt, you would set the speed low to help keep the heat down.

I don't know about the very hard plastics though, I'd worry they might shatter. Hopefully, someone who know about those material will chime in.

·
Registered
882 Posts
I don't know about the very hard plastics though, I'd worry they might shatter. Hopefully, someone who know about those material will chime in.
Successfully shaped all edges on this with the three flute Smooth-Edging Carbide-Tipped bit (#5 Here)from Mcmaster Carr #35505A65. ... Cast acrylic.

IMG_3524 by pat w1, on Flickr

GCG

·
Registered
1,053 Posts
Routers are made to manage plastic; it's the primary tool for plastic fabricators. A flat learning curve, have little fear. However, take the "new" in stages and use new cutters.
Speed (RPM) is not a critical variable. I rout at full speed and never melt stock whether cutting blind inside or full or fractional edge cuts.

·
Registered
34 Posts
In th past week there have been several questions about routing acrylics and other man made materials and I think they have been answered adequately so I wont go there,but I have found a tip that I think will help everyone who uses acrylics or plastic in there jigs or projects.