Router Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm fairly new to woodworking. I currrently own a Sears 15 amp variable speed plunge router I recieved as a gift. Since these routers are terrible when it comes to guide bushings and other standard accessories, and since it is powerful, I placed it in a router table that I made. Now I am looking to buy a fixed base router. I am on a budget and can get a PC 690 fixed speed with a PC half blind dovetail jig for $200 at a certain woodworking store. This seems like a good starter deal for me. My question is, down the road, will I need the variable speed option or will the PC 690 fixed speed do the trick?

·
2,392 Posts
Phillip K said:
I currrently own a Sears 15 amp variable speed plunge router I recieved as a gift. Since these routers are terrible when it comes to guide bushings and other standard accessories, and since it is powerful, I placed it in a router table that I made. Now I am looking to buy a fixed base router. I am on a budget and can get a PC 690 fixed speed with a PC half blind dovetail jig for $200 at a certain woodworking store. This seems like a good starter deal for me. My question is, down the road, will I need the variable speed option or will the PC 690 fixed speed do the trick?
Hi Phillip

I'm NOT one of the 'experts' around here, but here's my guess...

You will probably be OK with the PC 690 as is...

You would probably want the variable speed control more on the big one in the table... where you would be using the Large Raised Panel bits, etc. at a slower speed...

Just my 2 bits... Wait for the real experts on the subject... :)

·
Marine Engineer
Doug
4,905 Posts
Phillip,