Router Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2,645 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Like any tools there are some that are better than others, I am relatively new to routering and/or woodworking as my profile indicates. How, i have been using my router long enough to find that bits do not last long before the first gilt edge goes away. That is not to say that the bit is rendered useless when that intial edge goes away but it just isn't the same as it was when it was brand new, no surprise of course. So, I am wondering about the value of the line of Whiteside bits. I have purchased several bits from MLCS and Freud, mostly the former distributor and because of my inexperience I cannot say that my experience with them is valid or not. I don't mind paying extra for bits that last proportionately longer. I looking for comments from those that have had more experience than I have.

Jerry
Colorado City, TX

·
Official Greeter
19,730 Posts
Hi Jerry,

I understand that the Whiteside, MLCS and Freud bits are all of good value.

I mainly stick with CMT bits.

·
Banned
11,934 Posts
Jerry, the Whiteside bits will outlast any others I am aware of. They will still dull but they can be resharpened many more times because of the thicker carbide. Your location in the world determines which bits are the best value for your money. We are very fortunate in the US to have access to so many quality products for reasonable prices. I am sure James will set off the metal detecters at the airport when he returns home. I can picture customs agents pulling router bits out of his pockets!

·
Registered
815 Posts
Jerry,