Router Forums banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I am fairly new to routering but have done a fair amount for a project that i've been working on. besides some minor errors that i easily found the cause for i have a major problem which keeps me puzzeled.

i'm not sure how to explain but while using a tool to passer out some circles sometimes the bit "bites" in, ripping the wood fibres apart. this ony happens every quarter of the piece.. it does so with hugh force so there is no way of controling or preventing it.

I have a 6 bit set but for now' i've only used the 6 mm straight flute.
and i've done mainly circles (needed these for my current project).
so i though i got fairly adepted with it, and theses bite ins got "solved" after some "experience". Or so i though. but i needed some new circles,, larger diameter (21cm radius now) and it happened again. so maybe it only happens when routing with new sharp bits??

the bits i have are fom a set delivered with the router makita rt0700cx3j. am doubtfull it is makita but it did seem to be of fair quality. Lets' say it this way. my dull 6mm flute now still routers better then a brand new 6mm flute that came with a set from a friend of mine. but in time i will go and spend money on good bits.

since neither was now an option i choose to use the new sharp 12 mm bit instead of the dull 6mm. I use the router the correct direction (i believe) clockwise.. around the circle. used as much outward and downward force as i could master.
but it just ripped my plate apart. please see images.

can anyone explain how to solve this issue? what am i doing wrong.

Kind regards matthieu

Attachments

·
Registered
15,459 Posts
Wait, are you talking about a table mounted router or handheld?
If handheld you should be going from Left to Right, with the blank in front of you, and the router between you and it.
Have you presawn the shape almost to it's finished size...maybe an 1/8" over size?