Router Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to CNC and I have a project that I'd like to start working on which requires the use of a V carve bit. My CNC machine came with a 90, 60, 20, and 15 degree bits. I presume there must be some criteria that determines which of these should be used, but I have to confess that if there are I am not aware of them. I have attached two .jpg files which are images of what I am wanting to cut and I have indicated the size of each. I am wondering if one of you that has more experience than me can recommend which size (even if I don't have it) V carve bit I should use. Now, for the hard part - if you don't mind, can you also give me some reason reason behind that choice?

I really appreciate any help that anyone can give.

Rectangle Purple Handwriting Violet Font
Rectangle Cross Font Parallel Symbol

·
Registered
2,317 Posts
Try each on scrap and go back to the one that you like best. Keep the scrap piece and label it for each bit. From then on it will be an easy choice, depending on the desired result.

Charley

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Try each on scrap and go back to the one that you like best. Keep the scrap piece and label it for each bit. From then on it will be an easy choice, depending on the desired result.

Charley
Looks like I'm in your neck of the woods.

Thanks. I am either lazy or over thinking things. I was hoping there was some sort of logic that would dictate which bit you would use and that someone could share that with me. Nevertheless, what you say sounds logical and I'll give it a try. Blessings and thanks.

·
Official Greeter
19,967 Posts

·
Registered
Mike
3,959 Posts
It looks like the vectors for the Cross/Heart are about 0.125" so with a 60-degree bit it will carve about 0.108 deep. That would probably work for the Cross/Heart vectors.