Router Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the forum and have been searching for using a router table with knotty alder. I am going to be making a large frame (4x4) using knotty alder wood. I am brand new to routing. I have a bosch router and router table. I am struggling getting through the small knots in the alder wood. Are there any tips? These are not loose knots. I am using this bit: CMT 855.902.11 Molding Bit, 1/2-Inch Shank, 1-1/16-Inch Diameter, Carbide-Tipped.

Any help or links to help would be great. I cannot seem to find much searching online for knots. One forum will say avoid knots altogether, another says the bit should have no problem with knots.

·
Super Moderator
John
6,840 Posts
Hello and welcome to the forum. Amy
What do mean by trouble are the knots coming apart, if not, do not take a full bit with router you need to sneak up on the full profile, also which profile are you trying to route.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
No, the knots are not coming apart. The router gets stuck or moves slowly. I am brand new to this, so I know it's user error. As for profile... I really don't know. More to research! It is a 1x4 knotty alder board, I'm wanting to put a nice edge on the frame (the 4" side).

·
Registered
31,264 Posts
welcome Amy..
are you cutting the face or the edge of 1x4???
if it'd the face try cutting in multiple passes...
what speed are you turning the bit at???
also, is your pit sharp and clean???

Attachments

·
Registered
31,264 Posts
some good reading that may help you out...

Attachments

Reactions: neville9999

·
Registered
31,264 Posts
a bit more...

Attachments

·
Registered
31,264 Posts
some helper hints to reduce friction...

add UHMW tape to your fence...
this tape cand easily be had in 4'' wide strips/rolls...
great for the plates on your saws and the table saw fence...
most anyplace you want a no-mar slick surface...
Slippery (Low-Friction) Tape - Lee Valley Tools