Router Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi
Hi I have a work sharp 3000 system, which is great, but I wanted to get some new disks for it. Here in the UK they are £80 for either a smooth or rough set. Would anyone know of something that would work just as well on it???

Regards
Paul

·
Registered
2,323 Posts
Hi Paul,

I don't have a worksharp system. With that being said, I am not an expert on it. However, my research indicates that you are not regulated to buying the Worksharp sanding discs. I have read where several users have just used a six inch sanding disc, punched the appropriate size hole in the middle and used them on the platens.

Just buy the grit(s) that you need, poke a hole, and use some spray adhesive (if needed) and attach them.

£80 equates to around $125 USD if my conversion is correct. That is almost half of what the whole Wordsharp system cost in the US. I understand that you folks are taxed out the butt, but I would never pay that for a few pieces of sandpaper. From what I have read a lot of folks just buy extra glass platens, or make them from MDF, and attache the different grits to them. They just switch platens. Extra glass ones can be had here for around $20 USD from places like eBay.

Perhaps some other here have personal experience with the 3000 and can offer some viable alternatives.

Bill

·
Registered
11,921 Posts
Paul, many people in the USA make their own disks from MDF. Make them the same size as the glass platen. Build one for each size of grit and use the same grit on each side so you don't need to flip the disk all the time. This is a great time saver.