Router Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi
I am planning a 50 square metre workshop with a sophisticated ventilation system working through sound baffled air vents. Unfortunately I have no experience in the various disciplines involved in this project.

The workshop will be square or rectangular in shape and have a rectangular enclosure in the centre. That enclosure will be about 3metres x2 metres in size. In it will be the various dust extraction devices to serve the height adjustable work benches and machinery around the outside of it's perimeter walls. Air will be extracted through this room to the outside air via sound baffed air vents in it's walls. To supply air to the workshop and so to the central room, will be sound baffled air vents in the perimeter walls of the workshop. The main ventilation fan will be a silenced fan.

Has anyone else tried to do this project in a residential area? If so, may I ask what are the particulars and specifications of the project like baffled air vent design, and fan size? What are the other considerations in a project like this? The dust extractors will be good quality with exhausts of between 1 micron and .3 of a micron.

Thanking you in anticipation
Peteroo

·
Official Greeter
Ross
8,354 Posts
Can't help with your inquiry Peter but I'm sure someone will be along to give you some advice.

·
Registered
1,569 Posts
Peter; why in the middle of the room? For shorter pipe runs?
To be honest I'd hate giving up wide open work space for pretty much any reason!
Your cabinet saw will take up the most real estate, and assembly/ finishing a lot more.
Try these for working out your floor plan...
Grizzly Industrial® Workshop Planner
Shop Layout Guide - Issue No. 288
Dan........thanks for these links. I think they will help me greatly in laying out the basement workshop that I'm allegedly going to start on soon.

·
Retired Moderator
16,385 Posts